Sie sind hier:
news overview > This year’s Trailer and jury president have been revealed

This year’s Trailer and jury president have been revealed


Matthew Modine heads the international jury for the "German Independence Award - Best German Film"

Matthew Modine 1997 at Filmfest Oldenburg

During the annual press conference held at the CinemaxX Oldenburg on Tuesday, August 16th 2011, director Torsten Neumann revealed the new festival trailer, which will be running in cinemas nationwide from August 18th. The three minute short was shot in Oldenburg on a single day in July. Star of the trailer is the award winning Hollywood actress Deborah Kara Unger, who was jury president at Oldenburg Film Festival in 2010. Torsten Neumann wrote, produced and for the first time directed the trailer. It is a dreamlike yet whimsical take on the festival’s point of view of Oldenburg as a place in limbo between the past and the future, all the while taking a subtle jab at Oldenburg’s claim of being the “City of the Day After Tomorrow”. The trailer pays homage to classic films like Hitchcock’s “Rebecca” and “Vertigo” as well as Fleming’s “Gone with the Wind”.

It was also announced that Matthew Modine will be this year’s jury president, deciding on who the “German Independence Award – Best German Film” goes to. The American actor and director had his breakthrough performance in Kubrick’s “Full Metal Jacket”. His first leading role came in the award winning “Birdy” by Alan Parker. He starred alongside Al Pacino, Dennis Quaid, Cameron Diaz and Jamie Foxx in “On every given Sunday”. Among his works as director is “Jesus was a Commie”, which will see its German premiere in Oldenburg.