Sie sind hier:
news overview > The winners of the German Independence Awards

The winners of the German Independence Awards


To the world premiere of Tamar Simon Hoffs’ thriller POUND OF FLESH the 17th Oldenburg International Filmfestival ended on Sunday evening. Before the screening, the international jury of Deborah Kara Unger, Jesse Scolaro, Dorka Gryllus, Travis Stevens and F. X. Feeney and the short film jury presented the three German Independence Awards: “German Independence Award – Best German Film”, “German Independence Award – Audience Award” and the „German Independence Award – Best Short Film”.

“Best German Film” went to PICCO, in which director Philip Koch tells the story of three juvenile delinquents who live by their own laws inside the prison walls, with deadly consequences. THE HAPPY POET was indeed really happy when it was announced that Paul Gordon’s comedy won the audience award. The story of the vegan food stand owner Bill, who is trying to save the world by selling self-made eggless egg salad sandwiches, at a time captured the hearts and minds of the Oldenburg audience. Jeremy Bradley and Reuben Sack meanwhile were awarded by going for the ultimate business: Their SALVATION INSURANCE covers the two basic human needs belief and, well, insurance. The award for the best short film was presented by the jury of Thomas Darchinger, Norbert Kneißl and Dagmar Schmidt.