Sie sind hier:
news overview > Award winners announced

Award winners announced


The 16th Oldenburg International Filmfestival Oldenburg ended last night with the award show of the German Independence Awards. More than 15.000 visitors attended the screenings of 76 films from 20 countries many of them rousing successes.

Winner of the German Independence Award – Best German Film was Thomas Sieben’s  “Distance” with Ken Duken and Franziska Weisz. The 8.000 Euro award was presented by mayor Prof. Dr. Gerd Schwandner and members of the international jury, Buddy Giovinazzo, Sylvia  Caminer, Chris Gore and Patrick Cassavetti. Lead actress Franziska Weisz, star Ken Duken, who also produced and producer Norbert Kneißl received the awards to long ovations of the audience. The story tells the intimate story of a young man’s metamorphosis into an amok-killer. Fragile love between two disassociated persons is the focus of the film. Honorable mentions went to “Love Song” by Anne Høegh Krohn featuring Jan Plewka and Nicolette Krebitz.

The audience’s favorite was “Made in China” by American director Judi Krant. Krant was given the German Independence Award – Audience Award by Peter Göttelmann, CEO marketing of EWE. “Made in China” is a surreal comedy about an American inventor searching for investors in Shanghai.

During the Cinema Brunch the winners of the 500 Euro Short Film Awards were announced at the Theater Laboratorium. Best Foreign Language Short went to “Mute” by Hassan Said. “Scissu” by Tom Bewilogua won the Best German Short.