Sie sind hier:
news overview > Announcing the festival’s international jury

Announcing the festival’s international jury



Like in previous years this year too an international five-piece jury will decide on who gets to win the “German Independence Award – Best German Film”. The price money of the award will be split this year with part of the 8.000 Euro going to the director and the other part going to a German distributor. With this split the Oldenburg Film Festival wants to support the German film industry in addition to granting a subsidy to outstanding independent movies. The members of the jury 2009 are:

Sylvia Caminer

American producer, director and writer Sylvia Caminer collaborated with Rap legend Busta Rhymes in “Love’N’Dancing” and “Order of Redemption”. Among other things she produced “Blue Moon” which was realized with director and producer John Gallagher and was presented at Filmfest Oldenburg in 2001.

Patrick Cassavetti

Cassavetti has successfully produced feature films and TV-productions for over 30 years. Among most of his successful films are the Oscar nominated “Brazil”, „Mona Lisa“, „Emma“, „Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas“ and “Intimacy” which won the Golden Bear at Berlin. Together with Simon Relph and Ann Scott he runs the production company Greenpoint Films.

Buddy Giovinazzo

In 1985 the American writer and director burst onto the scene with “Combat Shock”. Other works of him are “Now way home” and “Life is Hot in Cracktown” which will be shown at this year’s festival. Giovinazzo also works on German TV productions and the latest one “Platt gemacht” will also be seen at the festival.

Chris Gore

Gore founded the Film Threat magazine which quickly gained reputation as the leading print medium covering the indie-scene. As a passionate festival-visitor he has been selected to jurys at Slamdance and other festivals. Gore publishes the “Ultimate Film Festival Survival Guide” rating more than 1000 festivals.

Aida LiPera

New York born Aida LiPera works for the international distributor Visit Films focusing on independent cinema. She worked for the Edinburgh Film Festival in programming and screening coordination. She also held a number of different positions in the film industry, such as the IFP Independent Film Week and the Hampton International Film Festival

Nominated for the “German Independence Award – Best German Film” are the following films:

D 2009, „Die Liebe der Kinder“ („The love of the children“), Regie: Franz Müller.
D 2009, „Liebeslied“ („Lovesong“), Regie: Anne Høegh Krohn.
D 2009, „Distanz“ („Distance“), Regie: Thomas Sieben.
D 2009, „21:37“, Regie: Michal Ostatkiewicz.
D 2009, „Must Love Death“, Regie: Andreas Schaap.